Make Calls Now To Prevent Rollback of Frac Sand Mining Safeguards

Please see Sen. Vinehout’s alert on fast-moving bad legislationFrac Sand Mining Alert

Dear Friends,

I am writing to alert you to a bill that appears to roll back the ability of locals to control what happens within their boundaries, especially with regard to sand mining.

This legislation is aimed at taking away local ability to protect health and safety in communities; including locals’ ability to put limits on water quality, water quantity, air quality, use of explosives and road use contracts.

The Walker Administration has been very reluctant to provide adequate resources for the enforcement of existing laws to protect health and safety. Local rules are the last line of defense for people.

This bill is related to sand mines. However, in my preliminary discussion with Legislative Council attorneys, the bill is not specific to just non-metallic mining (sand and gravel extraction). For example, if a community sets rules in a way other than zoning (such as police powers) they may lose this authority.

The bill is currently in draft form but I expect it to move very quickly through the legislative process. I attached a copy of the bill and the co-sponsorship memo for your information and use. The bill is complex and likely has long reaching implications for local control.

The bill was just released late yesterday. I learned there will likely be a joint hearing of the Senate and Assembly committees related to mining on Thursday October 24, 2013 at 9 AM in Madison. If it is at all possible, you should make plans to attend this hearing. The bill could potentially be voted out of committee at this hearing. THIS LEGISLATION COULD BECOME LAW IN JUST A FEW WEEKS.

Over the next several days I will be working with the Legislature’s attorneys to understand the details of the legislation. If you have specific questions please email them to me and I will pass them on to the attorneys. I will share details about the bill as I learn of them.

The bill comes on the heels of other legislation that takes away powers from local people to control what happens in their neighborhoods. This is part of a larger pattern in Governor Walker’s administration. The bill appears to be written by mining interests – many of which are owned by out-of-state companies.

Everyone who cares about having a voice in what happens in their neighborhood needs to pay attention to this bill. It certainly appears to take away local ability to protect communities and gives sand mines the ability to run roughshod over local people.

I strongly oppose the legislation. I wonder why politicians in Madison should seek to control our local communities. They don’t live here. I don’t know why any legislator from western Wisconsin would turn control over our land to politicians in Madison. I ask you to ask my colleagues on the mining committees the same question. 

Sincerely,

Kathleen
Senate Committee on Mining:

Sen. Tom Tiffany, Chair
608-266-2509
Sen.tiffany@legis.wi.gov

Sen. Darling
608-266-5830
Sen.darling@legis.wi.gov

Sen. Grothman
608-266-7513
Sen.grothman@legis.wi.gov

Sen. Jauch
608-266-3510
Sen.jauch@legis.wi.gov

Sen. Lehman
608-266-1832
Sen.lehman@legis.wi.gov

Assembly Committee on Mining

Rep. Williams, Chair
888-534-0087
Rep.williamsm@legis.wi.gov

Rep. Knodl, Vice Chair
888-529-0024
Rep.knodl@legis.wi.gov

Rep. Larson
888-534-0067
Rep.larson@legis.wi.gov

Rep. Sanfelippo
888-534-0015
Rep.Sanfelippo@legis.wi.gov

Rep. Kapenga
888-534-0099
Rep.Kapenga@legis.wi.gov

Rep. Kuglitsch
888-534-0084
Rep.kuglitsch@legis.wi.gov

Rep. Petryk
888-534-0093
Rep.petryk@legis.wi.gov

Rep. Petersen
888-947-0040
Rep.petersen@legis.wi.gov

Rep. Jacque
888-534-0002
Rep.Jacque@legis.wi.gov

Rep. Clark
888-534-0081
Rep.clark@legis.wi.gov

Rep. Bernand-Schaber
888-534-0057
Rep.bernardschaber@legis.wi.gov

Rep. Zamarripa
888-534-0008
Rep.zamarripa@legis.wi.gov

Rep. Hintz
888-534-0054
Rep.hintz@legis.wi.gov

Rep. Hulsey
608-266-7521
Rep.hulsey@legis.wi.gov

Rep. Ohnstad
888-534-0065
Rep.ohnstad@legis.wi.gov

 

Advertisements
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s